Psalm 143: an expositional sermon

[the text is at the bottom of this page]Click for Pdf

v.1 – “Hear my prayer, O LORD; give ear to my pleas for mercy! In your faithfulness answer me, in your righteousness!”

  • Faithfulness and righteousness are the basis of His answer to us.
  • Righteousness = will fulfill His promises. Duh. but righteousness? His faithfulness flows from His righteousness that He must answer us and be faithful to us because He loves righteousness. It is the fact that He cannot accept us as we are and must faithfully make us right with him, that He may answer

v.2 – “Enter not into judgment with your servant, for no one living is righteous before you.”

  • Our ability to approach God is based on His righteousness, not ours
  • Also, this is a plea, assuming that God would be absolutely just to enter into His judgment on David.

v.3 – “For the enemy has pursued my soul; he has crushed my life to the ground; he has made me sit in darkness like those long dead.”

  • I know this feeling

v.5 – “I remember the days of old; I meditate on all that you have done; I ponder the work of your hands.”

  • In response to Satan’s attacks, what did David do?
  • Remember – cognitive recall of Redemptive History on Earth
  • Meditate – introspective dwelling on past grace in our lives
  • Ponder – Thinking through connecting the two above things to see how God has brought you to this place. (Figuring things out)

v.6 – “I stretch out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land.”

  • Result – Praise & Longing (lust) for God.
  • [side note: implication – parched land longs for God. It doesn’t say “I long for You like dry land for water” (although he does in Ps. 63). This is just interesting, Romans 8 – nature groans for redemption.]
  • Selah – pause & consider

v.7 – “Answer me quickly, O LORD! My spirit fails! Hide not your face from me, lest I be like those who go down to the pit.”

  • Even after praise & desire, the fight continues
  • Because desire does not force God’s hand to move, but moves his heart to act for our good. Sometimes, that’s by not yet coming so we might:
    • a- long for him more
    • b- be able to relate to those unsaved
    • c- to know our helpless estate is like the unregenerate.

v.8 – “Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.”

  • Our trust in Him (faith) is the grounds of us knowing His steadfast love
  • This is our part – faith. It is what we do in this. This is the key!
  • The 2nd part of our part is surrender – the outworking of our faith – the practical side of faith
  • It is in our surrender He shows us which way to go. We don’t do this to figure out God’s “will.”

Text:

  • Psalm 143
  • A PSALM OF DAVID.
  • 1 Hear my prayer, O LORD;
  • give ear to my pleas for mercy!
  • In your faithfulness answer me, in your righteousness!
  • 2 Enter not into judgment with your servant,
  • for no one living is righteous before you.
  • 3 For the enemy has pursued my soul;
  • he has crushed my life to the ground;
  • he has made me sit in darkness like those long dead.
  • 4 Therefore my spirit faints within me;
  • my heart within me is appalled.
  • 5 I remember the days of old;
  • I meditate on all that you have done;
  • I ponder the work of your hands.
  • 6 I stretch out my hands to you;
  • my soul thirsts for you like a parched land. Selah
  • 7 Answer me quickly, O LORD!
  • My spirit fails!
  • Hide not your face from me,
  • lest I be like those who go down to the pit.
  • 8 Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love,
  • for in you I trust.
  • Make me know the way I should go,
  • for to you I lift up my soul.
  • 9 Deliver me from my enemies, O LORD!
  • I have fled to you for refuge!
  • 10 Teach me to do your will,
  • for you are my God!
  • Let your good Spirit lead me
  • on level ground!
  • 11 For your name’s sake, O LORD, preserve my life!
  • In your righteousness bring my soul out of trouble!
  • 12 And in your steadfast love you will cut off my enemies,
  • and you will destroy all the adversaries of my soul,
  • for I am your servant.
About this entry